West Ham nominees at London Football Awards 2019- Declan Rice and Lukasz Fabianski

Two West Ham players could be line for trophies at the 2019 London Football Awards after they earned nominations in their respective categories.

Young Hammers midfielder Declan Rice was nominated in the “Young Player of the Year (U21)” category. Rice will face competition from Arsenal’s Matteo Guendouzi, Crystal Palace’s Aaron Wan Bissaka, Charlton’s Karlan Grant and QPR’s Eberechi Eze.

Rice and Wan-Bissaka will be seen in action against each other when West Ham take on Palace at Selhurst Park on Saturday afternoon.

Pole Fabianski, who has been one of the Hammers’ best players all season, has earned a nomination for “Goalkeeper of the Year” alongside Chelsea’s Kepa, Watford’s Ben Foster, QPR’s Joe Lumley and Charlton’s Dillon Phillips.


West Ham had only one nominee last year and that was Adrian, who has been pushed to the bench following Fabianski’s arrival at the London Stadium. The Goalkeeper of the Year category usually tends to have a West Ham player in it- Darren Randolph was nominated in 2017, and Adrian earned a nomination in 2016 as well. One of the positives of having a shaky defence I suppose- our keepers have a lot of work to do and get greater opportunities to show off their skills!

The last Hammers player to win the award was Dimitri Payet, who won it in 2016.

The awards will be presented at London’s Battersea Evolution later this month (February 28, 2019)

Other major categories and nominees at LFA 2019

Player of the Year (Premier League)– Aubameyang, Hazard, Kane, Son, Townsend
EFL Player of the Year– Luke Freeman, Karlan Grant, Lee Gregory, Neal Maupay, Lyle Taylor
Manager of the Year– Bowyer, Sarri, Pochettino, Gracia, Montemurro
Women’s Player of the Year– Erin Cuthbert, Rianna Dean, Vivianne Miedema, Jordan Nobbs and Ji So-Yun

There will also be awards given for the “Community Project of the Year” and FA “For All”, which means a total of eight trophies up for grabs.

This is the fifth year of the awards, which were instituted back in 2015.

Speak Your Mind